Back to the Blog: Part 3 – The Start of A Little More Good

It make more sense if you read Part 2 first.

Next came the idea that maybe, just maybe, I could start my own company. I was still 22 and had no idea what it would look like, but I couldn’t ignore this burning desire to create something that was all mine. I knew one thing for sure, I never wanted to work for anyone but myself, ever again. I was still wallowing in a sea of self-pity and eating woe-is-me flavoured ice cream when a few incredible women/writers/entrepreneurs came into my life. White Hot Truth and Danielle LaPorte showed up, as did Natalie Sisson, the Suitcase Entrepreneur, and Heather White and Felicia Lee, who were both involved with Ghost CEO. Danielle, unknowingly and somehow purposefully, provided the inspiration I needed to get back on track, Natalie showcased the tools I could use to get there and Heather and Felicia helped me shape my idea into a reality. My idea was to help people bring a little more good to the world. Nothing big, no vegans (nothing against vegans), no selling of all material possessions, just little things like recycling, taking the bus, using good manners or shopping at stores that did more than sell things. I thought long and hard about a name and  spent hours typing in possible domain names. Everything was taken, and all for companies that were nothing like what I wanted to start. I was so frustrated, all I wanted was to bring a little more good to the world… Then it clicked, A Little More Good. I typed it into the domain search and it was available!!! I paid $9.99 for it and alittlemoregood.com was born.

I knew that people made money off blogs, so I thought I’d do the same. I asked a few friends to write for it, one to edit and my brother to take some pictures. I knew that I wanted to help people and have enough money to buy a private island. In his book, Tim Ferris said one of his first goals was to make $1000 a day, every day. I also added that to my goals.  A friend of a friend said he’d make me a website for cheap, so we spent July getting everything ready and planned to launch on August 1, 2010.

I ran to my computer that morning and clicked to our site. Nothing. I clicked the next day. Nothing. I checked my email and came up with a few excuses for friends who’d also gone to the site to check out my new venture. A few days later, a skeleton of alittlemoregood.com was up. I was ecstatic! It looked awful, there were lots of black squares with “your ad here” on them and two articles with photos we’d borrowed from the internet. September 1 came around and most of the writer friends I’d recruited moved on to bigger and better things, which at this point, was almost anything.

Leave a Reply

